Photographic Memory

Assignment #1

Date:6/2/2016

 

par412162_social_media_watermark

I look at the lean body that lies before me. I study it with intensity, from the blemish on her right collar bone to the freckles on her cheeks. She looks lifeless, yet graceful. I try to picture her smiling but I fail, she’s so still. The lighting was perfect, graciously glistening her face. We all sat surrounding this beautiful figure, watching her/ studying her from different perspectives. Time never seemed to pass. As I started sketching her my hand just kept moving, I felt like I had no control over it.

 

INDIA. Mumbai. Children having a goat-drawn cart ride at Juhu Beach, 1971.

Mumbai? No, Bombay. My home way from home. I remember when I had just moved in here I would spend my days strolling around the city discovering new places and areas. Small treasures in big cities are hard to find, but I found mine. I remember that day so well, the sky looked like a beautiful canvas with red and orange paint thrown all over it. Breathtaking, the breeze was chilly yet refreshing and the silence was alluring. I was hypnotised by the beauty of this city. I saw a few kids giggling while riding at the back of a goat, Ah! that reminded me of my hometown and my friends. These moments make me want to leave everything and go back but the beauty of Bombay is holding me back.

INDIA. Mumbai. A view of Marine Drive from atop the flyover, 2010.

Driving during the monsoon season is the only time when I don’t really mind the traffic. I feel like its the way of the gods to romanticise the world. Jagjit Singh’s Kabhi kabhi mere dil mein starts playing on the radio and that reminds me of my wife, I shouldn’t have fought with her in the morning. Well, it wasn’t completely my fault though. She’s equally to be blamed. Just then I reach marine drive and I can see the sea. How she loves it. Is this a sign? I should probably make up with her by getting here for a long night drive.

Leave a Reply

