Poem

The uninterrupted and intense heat of the sun

The feel of the grimy sand everywhere

The endless sea of dry desert to be travelled

This is what I had left behind there.

Dorothea, my escape from it all

Thought I would settle down

Away from the grit and the grime

But after so many years I was still dissatisfied.

Once again longing for the feel of the sands

The bumpy camel rides across the miles

The golden sun warm against my skin

The music of the low hum of the voices in the caravan

As we travelled across to unknown places

Miles to be covered, destinations to be reached

Meeting new people discovering new places

An endless journey, this is where I belong, this is what I want.

 

 

Leave a Reply

